Remember, Remember

Happy Guy Fawkes Night!

A year ago I was looking forward to this day even though the only plans I had were to attend a networking event for people seeking accommodation in London. But at this time last year I was set on diving into British culture and becoming a proper Londoner, part of which meant watching a dummy of Guy Fawkes tossed in a bonfire. Sadly, a rough start to my time in London didn’t leave me with much opportunity to prepare for Bonfire Night. Since it’s been almost a year since I last visited one of my favourite cities in the world, I thought I would reminisce a little bit.

London Victoria Fountain

Truth be told, there isn’t that much to tell. When I wasn’t looking for rooms to rent or dragging my suitcase up and down stairs, I was just walking. I walked everywhere from London Bridge. Along the South Bank, past St. Paul’s Cathedral, around Buckingham Palace, through Kensington Gardens, Oxford Street, around Regents Park, through museums – I even tried to walk all the way to Greenwich but eventually got lost and took a bus instead.

London Natural History Museum
Natural History Museum – one of the most beautiful museums I’ve ever been in
Greenwich Shepherd Gate Clock
The Shepherd 24-hour Gate Clock in Greenwich

I was also in London for Remembrance Day, and as it was the 100th anniversary of the beginning of World War I, a lot was being done to mark the occasion. That included the very popular Tower Poppies and displays at the Imperial War Museum, which is a museum I would probably still be visiting regularly if I was living in the city.

London Tower Poppies

London Imperial War Museum
“quite mad”

The beginning of November is apparently the beginning of the Christmas season. So, naturally, I got to visit a few Christmas markets before returning to Germany and visiting twenty more.

London Southbank Winter

London Somerset House Skating

London Covent Garden

In addition to finally getting a taste of Nando’s (henceforth known as Heaven), I tried out Pizza Express after seeing about 8,000 of them during my walking tours. Actually, I wasn’t even interested until I went shopping with a couple of new friends and we happened upon this:

London Pizza Express 1

And, since we had no plans for lunch, we decided to give their two-course Christmas menus a try. We may or may not have had a cake sample before and after lunch.

London Pizza Express 2
And it filled me up for the rest of my trip

I still have a very long list of things to do in London (in fact I’m pretty sure it got longer the more time I spent there), but I did manage to cross a few things off that I didn’t get to do back in 2012.

London Abbey Road

London Tower Bridge

Mostly, London was, and is, just beautiful.

London Shakespeare's Globe

London Post Box

London Bus Statue

London Eye

London Westminster

London Queuing
The British partaking in their favourite pasttime: queuing
London British Baby Card
I don’t know anyone who recently had a child, but I still almost bought this

The next picture is not all that striking; I just wanted the contrast of the medieval Tower of London in front of the modern Shard, and a bus happened to pass by. However, it’s the sign on the bus that’s really noteworthy, because the fifteen hundred or so ads I saw for The Imitation Game prompted me to go see it on my last night – and it was the best decision ever.

London The Imitation Game

On that note, I leave you with my best “Benedict face”.

Leave a Reply

